Buttermilk Baked Chicken

Because of my concussion, I spent this Thanksgiving alone at school. Plenty of friends offered to take me home (LOVE YOU ALL), but I needed the break to rest and do nothing. If I’m completely honest, I spent the majority of the break asleep in the dark little cave I call my room. It was glorious. I did, however, emerge to eat and cook. I spent Thanksgiving afternoon cooking this glorious recipe that I found on Damn Delicious. Chungah is one of my favorite food bloggers that I’ve recently discovered; I’ve tried out a good number of her recipes and they’ve all been fantastic. I strongly suggest that you take a trip over to her blog.

Since I had some extra time today for dinner, I decided to pull out this recipe again, conveniently, a week after Thanksgiving! The chicken was delicious still this time around and I took more pictures this time around too.

IMG_6768        IMG_6769     IMG_6774        IMG_6776

At this point, the entire kitchen smelled like the spice rub, it was glorious.

The final product!

IMG_6778 IMG_6782Recipe below:

SOUTHWEST BUTTERMILK BAKED CHICKEN (serves 4)

CHICKEN RUB

  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

OTHER

  • 4 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 cup buttermilk

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a flat bowl, mix the dry rub ingredients. Feel free to adjust the amount of salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Coat all sides of the chicken thighs in the rub, making sure to pat the rub in.
  4. Melt butter in a cast iron skillet over medium-high to high heat.
  5. Add chicken, skin-side down first, cooking each side for 3 minutes.
  6. Pour the buttermilk over the chicken thighs.
  7. Place into oven and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until the internal temperature is around 175 degrees.
  8. Serve chicken immediately and enjoy!

Adapted from Damn Delicious

Leave a Reply

